This is Now

It’s been 1,125 days since Magdalena was born.

There were days when I wondered how we would cope.

There were days when I thought I would never hear her say her full name.

There were days when I honestly didn’t think she would ever be able to walk.

There was a day when I would have laughed at the idea that she could sing the entire alphabet song, and that I’d be able to understand every single letter and every single word.

There were days when I thought she’d only ever eat eggs for the rest of her life.

There were days when I feared her teeth would rot before she’d ever let a toothbrush near them.

There were three days in January 2008 when I expected her fever to last forever.

There were days when I wondered whether she needed glasses, a hearing aid, or both.

There were a few days when I didn’t give her the credit she deserved.

There were days when I thought for sure she would never, ever get a good night’s sleep.

There were many days when I asked God to give to me whatever it was that kept her up at night.

Magdalena is now three years old, and those days are gone.

Now there are days when I wish she would just sit still.

Now there are days when she sleeps better than I do.

Now there are days when I am honestly amazed at what she is capable of.

Now there are days when I have to call a stop to the tooth brushing.

Now there are days when she eats more vegetables than the rest of us.

Now there are days when I hug and kiss her so much she pushes me away and says, “Daddy! All done!”

Now there are days when she won’t stop singing Happy Birthday to all of her friends and relations.

Now there are days when she tells me she loves me without me saying it first.

Now there are days when I think we wouldn’t be able to cope without her.

Now there are days when I can’t stop thanking God for sending this little girl our way.

